Making Time in 2014

Happy New YearCelebrating the {new year} is always exciting.  You get an opportunity to reflect on the past year and decide what changes and improvements you’re going to make in the year ahead.  These {resolutions} can be big or small, but they are always meaningful to the person that makes them.  In 2014 I have vowed to {bake more} – a delicious cake made from scratch is my ultimate goal.  I’ve also committed to leaving my cell phone in my purse when in the car.  I need to make an effort to be a {less distracted} while driving.

In addition to these resolutions, I recently read a blog post about 18 Things Everyone Should  Starting Making Time for Again and I’ve decided to focus on accomplishing these in 2014 as well:

1. Writing things by hand – I do this at work a lot, but I’m thinking letters & cards to friends are in order.

2. Savoring time to do nothing – As I write this I’ve spent two nights by myself and have been getting things done around the house.  I love it and look forward to having more {me-time} this year.

3. Thinking before responding.

4. Cooking a nice meal just for the sake of doing so – In conjunction with this, I am making it a goal to get to a Saturday farmer’s market on the Square this year for fresh ingredients.  I have yet to go once!  (Kellie, if you read this, we’re going!)

5. Getting really dressed up for no other reason than just wanting to.

6. Books – I have a collection of books sitting around at home just waiting to be read.  I expect to make a serious dent in 2014.

7. Making phone calls to relatives for no other reason than to just say hi.

8. Disconnecting from technology – See resolution above.  I also want to have a party where everyone leaves their cell phone in a basket and isn’t allowed to have it back until they leave – enjoying the company of those physically present.

9. Celebrating things with long, multiple course dinners.

10. Cleaning because it’s satisfying and doing things like painting walls or getting fresh flowers just because it’s therapeutic – {Fresh flowers} are definitely on my list.  I’m thinking at least once a month!

11. Spending time with kids, and doing kid things with them.

12. Answering things in a timely fashion.

13. Making sure relationships are actually based on time spent with one another – Disconnecting from technology will help with this.  An increase of coffee dates, weekend adventures, and wine nights is in store as well!

14. Just sitting and listening to music 2013 was a year of {country} for me, I don’t doubt that will continue, but I’d like to fit more classical in this year – Piano Guys anyone?

15. Traveling by train, or if that’s not possible, at least exploring places that you pass everyday – For me, there are so many undiscovered places in Madison.  I am going to make it a point to visit new restaurants, parks, bars and more.

16. Putting personal health and well-being first – Certainly exceeded my expectations for this resolution  in 2013 and will be extending good, healthy habits into the new year!

17. Planning something – It’s always nice to have something to look forward to.

18. Stopping to talk to people throughout the day.

I encourage everyone to make New Year’s resolutions – if you haven’t yet, I hope you’ve gotten some ideas from this list!  If you’ve made your resolutions, please share in the comments below!

 

One thought on “Making Time in 2014

  1. Pingback: Currently Craving: Fresh Flowers | bisous du papillon

Thoughts?

