Potato Leek Soup

I don’t know about you, but when the colder weather sets  in, I crave {soup} as a way to warm me up.  A few weeks ago, I realized that I had lots of veggies left over from my CSA so I decided to find a recipe to try out.  I decided on this recipe for potato leek soup.  It seemed simple enough and healthy (plus I have a million potatoes to use…still).  It actually turned out quite delicious!  The most time-consuming part was chopping up all of the ingredients, but once the manual labor was done I just threw it all into the CrockPot and let it cook for 10 hours.

Potato Leek Soup

While it fulfilled my craving for soup, there are some changes and additions I would make the next time.  First, I wouldn’t puree the soup.  I was so hungry when I arrived at home (and it smelled amazing!) I decided to have a bowl straight out of the CrockPot.  Then I continued to follow the recipe which said to puree all of the ingredients.  Separately, the potatoes, carrots, and leeks were great!  Once pureed, the texture of the soup was more like really runny mashed potatoes.  Without pureeing it would need more vegetable broth.  Other additions that get my vote – mushrooms, corn, and wild rice just to make it a little more {hearty}.

For a first-time recipe, I would give it a 6 out of 10.  Great flavor, but poor texture.  Can’t wait to make more {homemade soups} this winter!

Anyone have any recipes to share?

Thoughts?

