eight things

I am once again inspired by one of my favorite blogs… this is my response to a recent post on Cupcakes and Cashmere.  The original idea for Emily’s blog can be found on another blog, here.

{8 Things Every Happy Woman Should Have}

1. A go-to drink

Typically, it’s vodka.  Flavored vodka.  A Stoli Blueberry press or an Absolut Mango and water – both with lemon and a lime.  Malbec or Cabernet Sauvignon if it’s a glass of wine – it’s gotta be {red}.  If we’re talking about beer I’ll order a Spotted Cow or Capital Amber.  If I am in the mood for “special occasion” beer – make it a {porter}.

2. A go-to Karaoke song

Like the original blogger, I stick with the “No-Karaoke” option.  If I’m belting it out with my girls I’d probably pick Spice Girls or Britney Spears.  I’ve recently discovered my talent for singing Dirt Road Anthem by Jason Aldean.

3. A uniform

I dress up for work, but I would say I’m most comfortable in dark jeans, boots, a plain T (short or long-sleeved depending on the season), and a colorful scarf.  Always accessorized with jewelry – earrings, rings, and bracelet at minimum.

4. A hair stylist they love

This has taken a while since I’ve followed my mother to several salons in my life.  Some very unhappy-hair-moments later, I’ve reconnected with a childhood friend and she does an amazing job on my hair and always makes me look great when I leave her chair (even if I’m just heading to the grocery store after).

5. An exercise routine

Kickboxing.  Simple as that.  3-4 days a week.

6. A hobby

THIS (blogging). Photography.  Volunteering.  Painting my nails – yes, this classifies as a hobby because I do it at least once a week.

7. A best friend

I couldn’t live without the girls I call my best friends.  They know who they are and I love them – they know and accept me for who I am.

8. A healthy sense of self

I’ve become a pretty {confident} person during my “growing up” years.  I still have some work to do in this area (don’t we all?) but I know I am on the right path.  I set attainable goals for myself and constantly strive toward the next best thing; the next {best me}.

Do you possess these eight things?  What would your responses be?

2 thoughts on “eight things

  1. Go to Drink -for sure. Bourbon and 7, just like mommy. The hairstyle, I don’t think I have a go-to, it all depends on how much time I have to prepare my long mane. My uniform of choice this fall is jeans and a fleece jacket. Light enough to wear indoors but keeps me warm when I step outside. Besties are, what else?, the best. I am so happy for all my friendships that I have. Thanks for sharing. Good interactive post. Can’t wait to see what others put.

Thoughts?

