Baked Oatmeal

RaIndividual Baked Oatmeal Cupsndom fact about me…I don’t eat certain foods because of their texture. That’s right, I have “texture issues.” I don’t eat oranges, raspberries/blackberries, shrimp, sushi to name a few. One thing I always wish I could learn to like is oatmeal. Now, don’t get me wrong, oatmeal is great in a {cookie} or on top of an apple crisp, but there’s something about the texture of a bowl of oatmeal that grosses me out! Well, I was recently in search of quick, healthy {breakfast ideas} when I found this recipe for baked oatmeal.  I thought this sounded like a good alternative to a too-runny or too-thick bowl of Quaker oatmeal so I gave it a shot. I used mashed banana in place of an egg and chose almond milk for the liquid. I decided to top mine so I had 3 different varieties – blueberry, walnut brown sugar, & chocolate chip.

First off, while these are baking your house will smell delicious!  Once they come out of then oven they look like little muffins. But once you take the {first bite} you’ll realize they are little serving-size portions of oatmeal with “Goldilocks” consistency – just right! Since they’re baked they are moist and cake-like but the oats are still very prevalent. The {hint of banana} is perfect and the fact that you can customize the toppings make these the ideal on the go breakfast!

The recipe said it made 9 but I ended up with 14…I take one to work and pop it in the microwave for 30 seconds and I have a delicious, quick treat for breakfast!

Thoughts?

