Lemon Blueberry

I love to bake.  It’s a hobby I have, that I don’t get to do often enough.  That might actually be a {good thing} since the result of baking is usually something sweet and when you live alone, it’s not always good to have a whole cake or dozen cookies to yourself!  Over the weekend I decided to try out a new recipe for {Lemon Blueberry Muffin Bread.}

All of the ingredients!

all of the ingredients!  ready, set, bake

I split a CSA share with my aunt and uncle and we chose to order 5lbs of {fresh, organic blueberries} last week.  I froze about half of mine, but wanted to make something super delicious while they were still fresh-picked!  I stumbled upon this recipe on Google.  The yogurt helps to keep it moist and fulfilling while the lemon adds just enough tangy sweetness to balance out this mid-morning treat.

ready to go into the oven...look at those bright yellow flecks of lemon!

ready to go into the oven! look at those bright yellow flecks of lemon…yum!

I made some minor revisions to the recipe – adding about a tablespoon of lemon juice to the batter (I don’t have a zester so I don’t think I had enough lemon zest to go around!) and I made a lemon glaze with juice from the lemon and some powdered sugar.  It never hurts to add a little more {pretty please with} sugar on top!

fresh out of the oven! scratch and sniff would be perfect here.

fresh out of the oven! scratch and sniff would be perfect here.

This bread tastes as good as it looks!  It’s dense, but not too much like cake – definitely muffin-esque!  And since I didn’t want a whole loaf sitting at my house I took it to my office to share – it made a great Monday morning pick-me-up!

 

What are some of your favorite recipes using fresh blueberries?  

 

2 thoughts on “Lemon Blueberry

Thoughts?

