Save Rock and Roll

FOBOk, so this post isn’t going to be about rock and roll and how to save it, but it’s going to be about {Fall Out Boy} and their amazing comeback album {Save Rock and Roll}.  I can honestly say that FOB was the first punk-pop band I fell in love with.  Listening to their music has helped me discover numerous other pop-punk/similar-genre bands with awesome music ~ All Time Low, Mayday Parade, The Audition,  Cold War Kids, The Academy Is…, Jack’s Mannequin, The Maine, We The Kings, aaand this list could go on and on…  There’s something about this type of music that speaks to me – maybe it’s the beat, or the lyrics, or the fact that you can attend a concert of any one of these bands in a sweaty basement venue and rock out to every single song!

Back to Save Rock and Roll… my favorite 3 tracks from this album (in no particular order):

1.  The Mighty Fall (feat. Big Sean) ~ Great song to workout to!  Odd collaboration at first, but after a few times on repeat, it definitely resonates as a great track!

2.  My Songs Know What You Did In the Dark (Light ‘Em Up) ~ Of course the first single from the album has to be one of my favorites.  It was the first to fill my ears after the long awaited reunion of FOB.

3.  Where Did the Party Go ~ Beginning beat just pumps you up, then you’re hit with Patrick’s voice and some seriously sweet lyrics “I’m hear to collect your hearts.  It’s the only reason that I sing.  I don’t believe a word you say, but I can’t stop listening.”  {pure poetry}

Honorable Mentions

–  Young Volcanoes ~ According to Billboard, this is possibly single #2 – “Do you wanna feel a little beautiful baby?”

–  Save Rock and Roll (feat. Elton John) ~ Any collab with Sir Elton John gets an honorable mention.  This is also the title track and accurately tries to save rock & roll.

Thoughts?

